Pros and Cons of living in a Suitcase

I have lived in a suitcase for just over a year now. After spending 2 years of study/work in England, I have decided in last May 2015 that I would pack my stuff again and move to the Canary Islands to meet a friend of mine.

Having all my belongings in a suitcase and travelling to the unknown has been the most scary yet exciting thing I have done in my life. I have only had plans for a few months ahead, without knowing what to do next, or where to go, but everything just went smooth by the time it had to and I did well so far.

People often ask me how I afford my life, if I would go back to France next, what are my plans,etc. I have to admit those questions do worry me a little bit but then I look back to what my life was and compare it to now, and I wouldn’t change it for nothing. How can I afford to travel and live without having a job ? I just do, the longer you stay in a country, the cheaper it is (only because you rent a flat instead of paying an hotel, you cook your own food instead of eating out, you get invited to parties -free drinks/food, etc.) and it’s so much fun! Plus, I don’t have a car, I don’t pay a loan for my house, I change my home every 3 to 6 months-I don’t always have to pay for it either- I live in cheaper countries, I don’t buy expensive clothes and handbag I don’t need…. It’s all about how you perceive your life and needs and how you fill them.
My most expensive things are my kite and my plane tickets (even though I try to get the cheapest), this is it. You could all do it, you just have to choose it.

Nevertheless, every day is not ocean blue. I sometimes have days when I miss my friends and family so much that I could actually buy a last minute ticket which would cost me an arm to go see them. Days when you just feel alone and sad and wish you had your best friend to spend the day with. Days when you feel tired of talking to people in another language than yours, and you just don’t want to make the effort. Days when you wished you knew what would happen next, where you’ll be going.

People just assume that because you are travelling and uploading nice pictures on Instagram and Facebook, you are happier than them, and that you don’t have any downs. They just don’t realise that anywhere we are, we all have those days of bad mood. This is just what it takes to be human.

 

Leave a Reply

